HHS Names 32 ACO “Pioneers”

The Department of Health and Human Services recently announced the names of 32 health care physician groups and systems that it anticipates will be leaders in the formation of accountable care organizations (“ACOs”). The “pioneers” are considered frontrunners in working toward achieving the ACO model’s goals of providing higher quality care and reducing health care costs.

The 32 providers named come from 18 states; urban, rural and suburban settings; and a mix of high-cost and low-cost areas.

The 32 organizations participating in the Pioneer ACO Model are as follows:

Organization Service Area
1. Allina Hospitals & Clinics Minnesota and Western Wisconsin
2. Atrius Health Eastern and Central Massachusetts
3. Banner Health Network Phoenix, Arizona Metropolitan Area (Maricopa and Pinal Counties)
4. Bellin-Thedacare Healthcare Partners Northeast Wisconsin
5. Beth Israel Deaconess Physician Organization Eastern Massachusetts
6. Bronx Accountable Healthcare Network (BAHN) New York City (the Bronx) and lower Westchester County, NY
7. Brown & Toland Physicians San Francisco Bay Area, CA
8. Dartmouth-Hitchcock ACO New Hampshire and Eastern Vermont
9. Eastern Maine Healthcare System Central, Eastern, and Northern Maine
10. Fairview Health Systems Minneapolis, MN Metropolitan Area
11. Franciscan Alliance Indianapolis and Central Indiana
12. Genesys PHO Southeastern Michigan
13. Healthcare Partners Medical Group Los Angeles and Orange Counties, CA
14. Healthcare Partners of Nevada Clark and Nye Counties, NV
15. Heritage California ACO Southern, Central, and Costal California
16. JSA Medical Group, a division of HealthCare Partners Orlando, Tampa Bay, and surrounding South Florida
17. Michigan Pioneer ACO Southeastern Michigan
18. Monarch Healthcare Orange County, CA
19. Mount Auburn Cambridge Independent Practice Association (MACIPA) Eastern Massachusetts
20. North Texas ACO Tarrant, Johnson and Parker counties in North Texas
21. OSF Healthcare System Central Illinois
22. Park Nicollet Health Services Minneapolis, MN Metropolitan Area
23. Partners Healthcare Eastern Massachusetts
24. Physician Health Partners Denver, CO Metropolitan Area
25. Presbyterian Healthcare Services – Central New Mexico Pioneer Accountable Care Organization Central New Mexico
26. Primecare Medical Network Southern California (San Bernardino and Riverside Counties)
27. Renaissance Medical Management Company Southeastern Pennsylvania
28. Seton Health Alliance Central Texas (11 county area including Austin)
29. Sharp Healthcare System San Diego County
30. Steward Health Care System Eastern Massachusetts
31. TriHealth, Inc. Northwest Central Iowa
32. University of Michigan Southeastern Michigan

© 2012 Parsonage Vandenack Williams LLC

For more information, contact info@pvwlaw.com