Meaningful Use Stage 2—New Core Objectives

Now that the Stage 2 meaningful use standards are available, health care providers should start planning to implement attestation requirements.  Providers cannot begin to attest until 2014.  However, providers should consider two factors that indicate the need to plan.  First, the requirements for both stages of attestation are now more rigorous than before, and providers will no longer be able to count exclusions toward their non-core objectives.  Second, the number of core objectives that providers must meet has significantly increased.

In particular, providers should plan to meet one of two new Stage 2 core objectives.  Eligible physicians must use secure electronic messaging to communicate with patients on relevant health information.  Eligible hospitals and critical access hospitals must use automatic medication tracking from order to administration using assistive technologies and an electronic medication administration record.  Providers should also keep in mind that many of the objectives that carry over from Stage 1 to Stage 2 have significantly higher thresholds.  To meet these thresholds, providers should consider the use of external audits and implementation planning to meet Stage 2 requirements in 2014.

© 2012 Parsonage Vandenack Williams LLC

For more information, contact

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s