Meaningful Use Stage 2 Rule Released

CMS released the final requirements for Stage 2 of the meaningful use program on August 23, 2012. The meaningful use program’s goal is to promote health care providers’ implementation of electronic health records.

The rules released by CMS indicate that Stage 2 will begin as early as 2014. No providers will be required to comply with Stage 2 requirements prior to 2014. The rules also set forth the criteria for the certification of EHR technology, which will allow eligible professionals and hospitals to ensure that the systems they implement and/or use will work, help them to meaningfully use health information technology, and enable them to earn federal incentive payments.

CMS also stated that it will allow the current “2011 Edition Certified EHR Technology” to be used until 2014.

To view the final rule in rule, click here:

© 2012 Parsonage Vandenack Williams LLC

For more information, contact

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s