HHS Mandates Replacement of ICD-9 with ICD-10 Code Sets

On January 15, 2009, HHS released final rules that require the replacement of ICD-9-CM code sets with the ICD-10 code sets and implement version 5010 of the HIPAA transaction standards, which facilitate the adoption of electronic health records. The two rules work together. ICD-9 has 17,000 codes and is rapidly running out of new codes. ICD-10 is much more expansive and has 155,000 codes. The codes were scheduled to take effect in 2011, but the final rule delays the deadline for compliance until Oct. 1, 2013.

© 2009 Parsonage Vandenack Williams LLC

 For more information, contact info@pvwlaw.com

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s